News

The Last To See Me

Have you ever seen a ghost . . . really seen one?

For readers of Lauren Oliver and Alice Sebold, a sophisticated, literary ghost story that reminds us the past is never, ever forgotten.

I’m delighted to share that my next novel, The Last To See Me, will be published in September 2017. You can pre-order it now at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, or your Favorite Indie Bookstore.

Advance Praise for THE LAST TO SEE ME:

“This poem of a novel, exquisitely written, introduced me to the inner life of a ghost and held me spellbound throughout . . .  It entered my imagination so thoroughly, I heard whisperings from the attic, from under the bed . . . An extraordinary book, poignant and tragic.”  –Luanne Rice, New York Times bestselling author of The Beautiful Lost

“Hauntingly original, provocative, and dashed with wit—this literary ghost story changed the way I see the world.” —Caroline Leavitt, New York Times bestselling author of Pictures of You and Cruel Beautiful World

 

Also: Look for my latest short story, “The Accident of the Fire,” in the Spring 2017 print issue of The Fourth River: where writers and artists “explore the relationship between humans and their environments . . . natural and built, urban, rural or wild . . . richly situated at the confluence of place, space and identity.”

Something about open spaces makes human beings want to fill them with their own will . . . A pilot scraped his airplane through the narrow stone arch without incident, but the tourist who wanted to bungee from it fell to earth–although, like the old woman who died when she went out for wood in winter, or the boy who drowned crossing the shallow river, what was attempted had seemed so much simpler. “Dead Horse Point,” my new story about death, life, heat, cold, cruelty and compassion in the high desert, is in the latest issue of the Massachusetts Review. You can order your copy here.

Join me on the campus of the University of North Carolina, Greensboro on Saturday, April 23, 2016, for my latest workshop: “True Character: Crafting Portraits in Creative Nonfiction.” Email for more information.

My latest essay, “End Over End,” is now available via LitHub as well as in Issue 56 of Creative Nonfiction, a special issue devoted to the subject of “Waiting.” What does “End Over End” explore? It’s an essay about place . . . about surf . . . about holding out for the perfect wave . . . losing your balance . . . and then discovering what it means to be right side up in our precious, water-dependent world. You can order the issue, filled with more essays about patience, practice and pause, here.

Storytelling as Ceremony and Homage,” a letter-essay in which I share a little bit about my creative process with Utah designer Sarah Hedden, is now available here.

Read my essay, “Double Infinity,” about rock climbing and hanging in there, in Isthmus.

My novella, The Wedding of Anna F., is now available in all e-formats (including Kindle, Nook, iPad, and in pdf format for all computers) from Untreed Reads.

The Deadwood Beetle is now available in a lovely Dutch edition.

You can find more of my work internationally as well, here; or check out this interesting book from France, called Dusts of the World. It features an essay of mine, “The Shape of a Day,” about the clay pottery community of Seagrove, North Carolina.

 

Click here for more news